z

Can't connect..

Chat about twofo and other information sharing portals.

Moderator: Operators

rubik
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 11:54 pm

Can't connect..

Postby rubik » Tue Feb 09, 2010 11:59 pm

Hey I get this error message when I try to connect..

[23:55] *** Connecting to hub.twofo.co.uk:4144...
[23:55] *** An attempt was made to access a socket in a way forbidden by its access permissions.

..anyone got any tips on what this means/what I can do?

Cheers guys.
User avatar
astropoint
The life and soul of the party
Posts: 1146
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2005 6:50 pm
Location: Newcastle-Under-Lyme
Contact:

Re: Can't connect..

Postby astropoint » Wed Feb 10, 2010 10:06 am

You need to be using stunnel to connect to twofo from campus. ITS blocks the normal connection. (ie. if you have stunnel already you ought to be connecting to localhost:8000 not the actual hub address).
Did you get the twofo preconfigured client? If not you can get it from http://www.twofo.co.uk/resources/twofoDC++.exe When you run that a set of instructions will pop up with what you need to run and do in order to be able to connect
rubik
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 11:54 pm

Re: Can't connect..

Postby rubik » Wed Feb 10, 2010 10:44 am

Thanks, but I tried again and made sure I opened stunnel before DC++ and I got the same error message.
If it makes a difference, I've been using DC++ for a while and this is the first time i've had any problems like this.

Cheers
User avatar
astropoint
The life and soul of the party
Posts: 1146
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2005 6:50 pm
Location: Newcastle-Under-Lyme
Contact:

Re: Can't connect..

Postby astropoint » Wed Feb 10, 2010 11:08 am

stunnel may be open yes, but I can see that DC is quite obviously connecting to the wrong address.
Where is says
[23:55] *** Connecting to hub.twofo.co.uk:4144...
it ought to be reading as
[23:55] *** Connecting to localhost:8000...

To manually force it to connect to localhost:8000 go to File -> Quick Connect, but in the favourite hubs section (View -> Favorite Hubs) there should be an entry for On Campus connections which you can double click on.
rubik
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 11:54 pm

Re: Can't connect..

Postby rubik » Wed Feb 10, 2010 11:13 am

Brilliant! Working fine now. Thanks very much.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests