Twofo etiquette?

Chat about twofo and other information sharing portals.

Moderator: Operators

fruc

Twofo etiquette?

Post by fruc »

Hi, i am new to this 'activity' and am wondering if anybody here can advise me on any etiquette i need to follow; both to not get kicked, and also not annoy other users.

Thankyou.
astropoint
The life and soul of the party

Post by astropoint »

Boils down to Share what you download and be nice to other people.
There are other more specific rules in the rules thread, ( viewtopic.php?t=36 ) but following those should keep you safe
BigG
Forum Spammer

Post by BigG »

It's a good idea not to ask for things in main chat. Some people find this difficult to comprehend but, if you've been online all day and the same question has been asked about 20 times it can get somewhat annoying.

For TV shows you can check http://www.epguides.com for airing dates etc. Bear in mind that these are the US release times/dates and that the encoding of the show itself takes a couple of hours.

Most episodes appear on the wibbly wobbly web a in the early hours in the morning. However, because of the AUP this year, it may take a few days for new episodes to get onto the campus network.

Another thing to avoid is 'slotbegging' - requesting a download slot from someone, especially from the people sharing lots; they obviously are in high demand and will have many people in their upload queue. Although you may really desperately 'need' to see the newest episode of <insert generic popular TV show here> so will many other people: why should you get priority??
Despite this, if the file that you want is rare, and they are the only person on the hub with it, usually they are more than happy to oblige. Note: rare stuff does NOT mean new stuff :)